Creative Juices

The other night I was laying in bed and decided to take light nude black and white photos. It was about  1 AM or 2 AM and I should have been asleep, but wasn’t. I have wanted to explore the photography side of nude for a while, and when I see nude photos done right I praise not only the photographer, but also the subject. After taking the photos it sparked my creative writing side. So, I decided to do some creative writing in the form of a poem of sorts. I am still working on the piece and once I am finished I will definitely share.

There is something about the middle of the night especially between the hours of 2 AM and 5 AM where the majority of the world is quiet and your thoughts are loud and spark the most creativity. I have always experienced this whirlwind of creativity either while I am still awake during those hours, or when I wake up during those hours. It is like God is speaking to me telling me to create something so great that I can’t help, but share it with the world.

Ironically, as I approach another year of life it seems like my Kuumba (the sixth principle of Kwanzaa) which means Creativity in Swahili. Side note Zuri means Beautiful in Swahili. It seems like the more I push to finish this thesis the louder creative thoughts and creative moments are yelling at me. I have so many things that I want to create for my Etsy store, some painting ideas I have for a few canvas I bought and even some creative writing ideas. So, I am pushing myself to have everything with my thesis completed by October 25th so that I can move into the direction I am being pulled into.

For now I will take note of those creative thoughts, put a pin in them and finish the thesis. But, if something is pulling you to be creative listen to it, because there is so much joy in our creativity and it opens us up in ways unimaginable. Creativity allows us to enter into a vulnerable space, and being in that space is great for our spirits. Also, being creative is a form of self-care, which many of us need to start taking a little bit more care of ourselves 😉

Peace, Love and Happy Nappiness!


Leave a comment